Sasha Waltz and John Öhman take over the direction of the Staatsballett Berlin in 2019


Berlin-based choreographer Sasha Waltz and the director of the Royal Swedish Ballet Stockholm, Johannes Öhman, will jointly take over the direction of the Staatsballett Berlin as co-directors in the summer of 2019. They follow Nacho Duato, whose contract expires in July 2019. The Governing Major of Berlin, Michael Müller, made this announcement today at a press conference

Meet the new dancers at the Staatsballett Berlin


With the start of the new season, the company welcome ten new dancers from all over the world: The troop of new company members is headed by the native Russian Ksenia Ovsyanick, who comes from the English National Ballet to the Staatsballett Berlin and joins the ensemble as a new Principal Dancer. On 19 October 2016, she will make her Berlin debut in the role of Clara in Nacho Duato’s version of “The Nutcracker”. That night, the title role will be danced by another new company member: Denis Vieira, who until this summer was a Soloist at Zurich Ballet. As new Soloists we also welcome Ekaterina Petina from the Bavarian State Ballet and Julia Weiss from the Semperoper Ballet. Joining the corps de ballet are Cameron Hunter, Joaquin Crespo Lopes, Katherine Rooke, Alicia Ruben (not in the photo), Shahar Dori and Pamela Valim (parental leave replacement).

On February 24, 2016 first soloist Beatrice Knop made her farewell to the company after 25 successful years on the stage at a sold out show in Deutsche Oper. At the end of the season Caroline Bird, Lisa Breuker, Stephanie Greenwald, Arman Grigoryan, Sven Seidelman, David Simic, Martin Szymanski, Michael Wagley and Alice Williamson also left the company.